Map Awards

Invitation to Attend

Call for Contributions | Important Dates | Publication in The Globe | ANZMapS Prize
Programme Committee

The New Zealand Cartographic Society and the Australian and New Zealand Map Society is proud to announce the seventh National Cartographic Conference, 42nd ANZMapS Conference and the third ICA Symposium on Cartography for Australasia and Oceania - GeoCart'2014. The event will be held at the outstanding facilities of The University of Auckland, 3-5 September 2014.

GeoCart'2014 aims to bring together a wide cross section of professionals, researchers and enthusiasts engaged in cartography, map curatorship and research, geovisualisation and GIScience, to promote new techniques in, and a greater understanding of cartography and mapping.

The Conference will host the National Cartographic Exhibition and GeoExpo'2014 - a Commercial Exhibition focused on the latest innovations related to technology, products, applications and services offered by the top national and international manufacturers and vendors.

You are invited to submit abstracts of up to 1,500 words on any topic in cartography, map curatorship, history of cartography or exploration, geovisualisation and GIScience or related disciplines. Each abstract will be reviewed by one of the programme committee, either from a professional or research background, as applicable. You have the choice of submitting your professional or research abstract towards an oral presentation or poster presentation stream. All accepted submissions will be published in the Conference Proceedings.

On behalf of the Organising Committee, you are extended a warm invitation to participate in GeoCart'2014.

Looking forward to meeting you in Auckland, the City of Sails.


Call for Contributions

The Local Organising Committee invites authors to submit abstracts of up to 1500 words to the GeoCart'2014 Conference via the GeoCart'2014 EasyChair website.

The conference proceedings, which will collate accepted abstracts, will be published as a CD-Rom and/or a book in the CartoPRESS series, as an Occasional Publication.

If a submitted abstract is accepted, one of the following will apply, depending on the results of the review:

  1. Accepted for oral presentation at the conference and included in the conference proceedings, subject to review recommendations
  2. Accepted for poster presentation at the conference and included in the conference proceedings, subject to review recommendations (some abstracts originally submitted for consideration for oral presentation may be in this category)

Principal authors of the accepted abstracts are eligible for a 10% discount on the Conference registration fee.

If you wish to submit an abstract or a poster abstract, please read GeoCart'2014 Guidelines for Authors. Submission is through the EasyChair conference management system.

GeoCart'2014 Guidelines for Authors | download (PDF 19KB)


Important Dates

Deadline for abstracts submission 7 July 2014
Decision on submissions relayed to author(s) 28 July 2014
Deadline for revised submissions 11 August 2014
Deadline for early bird registration 15 August 2014
GeoCart'2014 Conference 3-5 September 2014


Publication in The Globe

Authors will be invited to expand their conference abstracts/presentations into full-length manuscripts for publication in the Australian and New Zealand Map Society's journal - The Globe (Guidelines for authors), as either peer-reviewed papers or unrefereed reports (as appropriate). There will possibly be another special issue in a cartographic journal or published book.


ANZMapS Dorothy Prescott Prize

ANZMapS offers the annual Dorothy Prescott Prize for the best paper presented at the conference. The prize is awarded upon the successful publication of the winning paper in The Globe (see above for publication requirements).


Programme Committee

Geoff Aitken - NewTopo NZ Ltd, New Zealand
Lars Brabyn - University of Waikato, New Zealand
William Cartwright - RMIT University, Australia
Igor Drecki - University of Auckland, New Zealand
Kenneth Field - Esri Inc, United States
Pip Forer - University of Auckland, New Zealand
Jay Gao - University of Auckland, New Zealand
Georg Gartner - Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Will van den Hoonaard - Saint Thomas University, Canada
Kristoffer Kristiansen - Norwegian Mapping Authority, Norway
Antoni Moore - University of Otago, New Zealand
Granville Allen Mawer - Australia
Geoff O'Malley - Land Information New Zealand, New Zealand
Mairead de Roiste - Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Roger Smith - Geographx (NZ) Ltd, New Zealand
Brendan Whyte - National Library of Australia, Australia


Welcome | Invitation | Programme | Exhibition | Map Awards | Registration | Accommodation | Contact
  © New Zealand Cartographic Society Inc, 2013-2014